Akron Beacon Journal

BASKETBALL

Ohio high school basketball | OHSAA tournament divisions set for 2025-26 season



Michael Beaven Akron Beacon Journal June 24, 2025, 5:47 a.m. ET

The Ohio High School Athletic Association announced the divisional breakdowns for the upcoming 2025-26 winter sports seasons on Monday, June 23.

The only two winter sports with new assignments compared to last season are boys and girls basketball. Each of those sports are subject to the OHSAA's competitive balance process and recalculate divisions every season.

Divisional breakdowns remain the same in 2025-26 for swimming, bowling and boys wrestling, which do not utilize competitive balance and will be in the second year of a two-year base enrollment cycle. Gymnastics, ice hockey and girls wrestling each have one division.

OHSAA boys basketball divisions for Greater Akron-Canton

Division I: GlenOak, Jackson, McKinley.

Division II: Barberton, Green, Highland, Hoover, Hudson, Massillon, Perry, Stow, Twinsburg, Wadsworth, Walsh Jesuit.

Division III: Akron Garfield, Akron East, Akron North, Alliance, Aurora, Copley, Cuyahoga Falls, CVCA, Ellet, Firestone, Hoban, Kent Roosevelt, Lake, Louisville, Nordonia, Northwest, Revere, St. Vincent-St. Mary, Tallmadge.

Division IV: Buchtel, Canton South, Carrollton, Cloverleaf, Coventry, Field, Marlington, Minerva, Norton, Ravenna, Springfield, Streetsboro, West Branch, Woodridge.

Division V: Central Catholic, Crestwood, Fairless, Garrettsville Garfield, Manchester, Sandy Valley, Southeast, Tusky Valley, Tuslaw.

Division VI: East Canton, Lake Center Christian, Mogadore, Rootstown, St. Thomas Aquinas.

Division VII: Malvern, Waterloo, Windham.

Need a break? Play the USA TODAY Daily Crossword Puzzle.

OHSAA girls basketball divisions for Greater Akron-Canton

Division I: GlenOak, Jackson, McKinley, Stow, Wadsworth.

Division II: Akron Garfield, Cuyahoga Falls, Firestone, Green, Hoban, Hoover, Hudson, Massillon, Nordonia, Perry, Twinsburg.

Division III: Aurora, Barberton, Buchtel, Copley, CVCA, Ellet, Highland, Kent Roosevelt, Lake, Louisville, Revere, St. Vincent-St. Mary, Tallmadge, Walsh Jesuit.

Division IV: Akron East, Carrollton, Cloverleaf, Crestwood, Coventry, Field, Marlington, Minerva, Northwest, Norton, Ravenna, Springfield, Streetsboro, West Branch, Woodridge.

Division V: Canton South, Fairless, Garrettsville Garfield, Manchester, Sandy Valley, Southeast, Tusky Valley, Tuslaw.

Division VI: Central Catholic, East Canton, Lake Center Christian, Mogadore, Rootstown.

Division VII: Malvern, Windham.

Note: The OHSAA documents did not list Alliance, North or St. Thomas Aquinas in any divisions for girls basketball.

Michael Beaven can be reached by email at mbeaven@thebeaconjournal.com and is on Twitter at @MBeavenABJ.