Akron Beacon Journal

FOOTBALL

OHSAA high school football playoff regions | Akron-area divisions for 2025 season

Akron Beacon Journal Updated May 1, 2025, 8:58 p.m. ET

High school football playoff regions for the 2025 season were announced Thursday, May 1, by the Ohio High School Athletic Association after it set the new divisional breakdowns.

No schools in Divisions II through VII opted to move up to Division I.

Twelve additional schools moved up a division because of the OHSAA's competitive balance process that analyzes data from roster information provided by each school from the previous season. Those 12 schools join 34 schools that remain in a higher division this year because of competitive balance for a total of 46 schools that were moved up a division from their base male enrollment count.

Summit County high school football playoff regions for 2025

Akron-area schools are listed in order of division:

Barberton, Division II, Region 6 Cuyahoga Falls, Division II, Region 5 Firestone, Division II, Region 5 Garfield, Division II, Region 5 Green, Division II, Region 5 Highland, Division II, Region 6 Hoban, Division II, Region 5

Hudson, Division II, Region 5 Lake, Division II, Region 5 Nordonia, Division II, Region 5 North, Division II, Region 5 St. Vincent-St. Mary, Division II, Region 5 Stow, Division II, Region 5 Twinsburg, Division II, Region 5 Wadsworth, Division II, Region 6 Walsh Jesuit, Division II, Region 5 Copley, Division III, Region 10 CVCA, Division III, Region 9 East, Division III, Region 9 Ellet, Division III, Region 9 Tallmadge, Division III, Region 9 Revere, Division III, Region 10 Buchtel, Division IV, Region 13 Coventry, Division IV, Region 13 Northwest, Division IV, Region 13 Norton, Division IV, Region 13 Springfield, Division IV, Region 13 Woodridge, Division IV, Region 13 Manchester, Division V, Region 17 Mogadore, Division VII, Region 25

Need a break? Play the USA TODAY Daily Crossword Puzzle.